Managing payees

To enhance security and improve the management of payees in Active Banking, creating payees and modifying BSB or account numbers for existing payees requires authorisation. 

Creating and modifying payees as part of a Funds transfer

  • If you enter the details of a new payee and select 'Save detail to payee list', the payment must be authorised before the payee record will be saved and you can use the payee in further payments
  • If you select an existing payee and modify the BSB and/or account number and select 'Save detail to payee list', a new payee will appear in your payee list when the payment is fully authorised. You will be unable to select the payee for another payment until the payment that includes the new payee is authorised
  • If you select an existing payee as part of the payment and modify only the account name and/or description and select 'Save detail to payee list', the original payee in your payee list will not be updated with the amended details. If you want to update the account name and/or description of the payee, you will need to modify the payee record by navigating to the Maintain payee list, selecting the payee and clicking 'Modify'
  • If you modify any of the payee details of a Funds transfer you did not create while it is pending authorisation, and select 'Save detail to payee list', then upon authorisation the payee will be saved to your payee list, and not the payee list of the user who created the payment originally.

Creating and modifying payees as part of a Group payment

  • If you create a Group payment and enter the details of a new payee, and select 'Save as template', the payment must be authorised before the payee record/s will be saved and you can use any of those payees in further payments
  • If you create a Group payment and modify the BSB and/or account number of an existing payee and select 'Save as template', a new payee will appear in your payee list when the payment is fully authorised. You will be unable to select the payee for another payment until the group payment that includes the new payee record/s is authorised
  • If you modify any of the payee details of a Group payment you did not create while it is pending authorisation, and select 'Save as template', then upon authorisation all the payees will be saved to your payee list, and not the payee list of the user who created the payment originally
  • If you modify any part of a template when creating a Group payment from a Template, once the Group payment is saved and appears in Pending authorisation, a message in the 'To account/biller' column will indicate that payees have been added or modified. It is the responsibility of the authoriser to check the payee details, by clicking the 'View details' link. The view details page displayed includes a column which indicates which payees are new or have been modified
  • When 'Hide details from others (Private)' is selected on a Group payment created from a Template, then only the user who created the payment can view the details of payees (including added or modified payees) in that payment. If the authoriser is not the creator of the payment, they will not be able to see the payee details
  • To update the payees in a template, you need to select the template from the Group payment templates page and select Modify template
  • When modifying a Group payment template, you can only add payees that have been fully authorised. Use the magnifying glass to search for and select a payee to add.

Creating and modifying payees outside of a payment

  • If you create a new payee or modify the BSB and/or account number of an existing payee from the Maintain payee list tab, the payee must be authorised before you can use the payee in a payment
  • New or modified payees created or modified outside of a payment will appear in the Payees tab of the Pending authorisation page
  • If you modify the account name and/or description of an existing payee and select 'Save', the existing payee will be immediately updated in your payee list
  • Single authorisation by a user with either Single authorise or Dual authorise access is required for any newly created payees or modifications to the BSB and/or account number of any existing payees.
  • Payees remain in Pending authorisation until they are either authorised or deleted, otherwise they expire at 6:30pm (AEST/AEDT) six business days from creation date
  • If you create a new payee or modify the BSB and/or account number of an existing payee outside of a payment, you will be unable to select the payee for another payment until it is authorised.
  • Payees that are created, modified or deleted outside of a payment appear in the Audit list